T Nation

5 x 5 WO

just started a 5 x 5 workout to try and improve my core lifts as only recently got back to squating after injury.

my question is: am only doing small amount of work each body part
Day 1: Squat, bench, BOR
Day 2: Squat, military, dead
day 3: Squat, bench, BOR
assistant work: core work weighted sit ups and leg raises, hyper extensions...

I do like the workout but its not doing much as it states: to start light and increase each set meaning that i only get 1 or 2 sets which challange me. So although these lifts will obviously improve is it going to be at the cost of everything else

Also am missing lots of exercises i like to do chins, pulls, dips, xovers, flies, db press (decline incline), front n lat raises...

your views would be appreciated

Im a beginner myself so i shouldnt be giving advice.....so im going to give some
advice written in a book called starting strength. Im not sure how much of a 'novice' you
are but this extract might help

"One school of thought holds that one work set, if done at a high enough intensity, is sufficient to stimulate muscular growth. for novices, several problems immeadiatly present themselves. First, inexperienced trainees do not know how to produce max intensity under the bar, and will not know for quite some time. Second, if they dont know how to work at a very high intensity, more than one work set will be necessary to provide sufficient stress to cause adaptation to occur - one set will not provide enough'

Rippetoes book goes on to suggest 3-4 warm up sets gradually increase the weights in small jumps (not BIG) till you get to your working weight, then do 3 sets of 5 reps of that weight.

exactomundo BigBoss.
Zak- dont squat and dead in the same workout or you wont get near enough intensity for either

also Zak, what kind of weights are you moving, ie how advanced are you

''also Zak, what kind of weights are you moving, ie how advanced are you''