5 Day Splits for Natural Bodybuilders?

I’ve been training for around 10 years now. I started off with full body 3x a week, from there I went to a 3x a week split, and after a few years I began a 5 day split.

I’d just like some confirmation/assurance that what I’m doing is adequate. I know I shouldn’t really be looking for reassurance from other people about the way I train, but having been a long time lurker of these forums there are a lot of knowledgeable people around, and I just felt you guys may be able to put my mind at ease.

I mean, it’s not like I’m NOT progressiong on a 5 day split, but I tend to get really anal about these things and once I start thinking there’s something wrong with it, I start overthinking and panicking about it. I’ve been reading up a lot on how training a muscle twice a week is ‘supposedly’ much better for natural bodybuilders, than training them once a week, and that’s really what has caused me to start thinking about my current routine.

I really enjoy working out 5x a week, using a traditional bodybuilding split. I like to be able to focus on the muscle I’m training 100% which an upper/lower or full body routine wouldn’t allow me to do. I guess maybe I AM overthinking it, but I can’t help thinking that maybe my bodyparts don’t need 7 days of rest, and that I’m doing myself a disservice by only training them once a week.

Would really appreciate some input on this, thanks guys.

Many people would argue that getting the sets, for example, 12- 20 per muscle group, per week is what really matters for hypertrophy.
Hopefully I didn’t take too much with my choice of words, but what I mean is 10 sets for lats on a back and tri day, and 10 sets for lats on chest day, equally 20 sets per week; has actually been shown to be more effective for grwoth due to Increased protein synthethis.

Would cite the article but it was posted on a competing website