T Nation

5 Cycles Report & Questions

Hello Jim and the other members.

I’ve completed a 5 forward cycle and wanted to give you a big thank you for your program and advises. Optionally, maybe some hindsight can help someone on this forum.

I started this 5 forward cycle after completing the prowler challenge. Actually that was a sled challenge, but the progression was the same. Wanted to push my strength a little more and reset my training maxes.

Background:
I’m a 28yo office worker, not an athlete. I have just completed my 14th cycle of 5/3/1. So I have been training for about 2 years.
I would love to play rugby but just don’t have the availability. I like to pretend I’m training in a year-long off-season.

The plan was: 3 cycles of 1000% awesome, 2 cycles of beach body challenge.
The logic behind it was:
My bench press was feeling uncomfortable at “heavy” weights, so 5x5@85% seemed like the sweet spot to practice with decent volume at a relatively heavy weight. And the same for the squat couldn’t hurt.
By the end of it, my bench was feeling much better. But my press still had that uneasy feeling. So focusing on it seemed like a good idea. And I really wanted to try hang cleans, so the beach body challenge template was a no-brainer.

Diet & recovery:
I just made sure to eat a lot of meat and eggs, and to sleep well. (Sleep is the most crucial point for me, notably because I train in the morning.)
Stretching before going to bed. (A mix of Agile 8 and yoga movements)
A multivitamin and fish oil helped, at least psychologically.
The work is stressing, but the consistency keeps this stress manageable. Or maybe I had to make the stress manageable. I don’t know which way it is. But honestly, sometimes breaking two PRs in the morning helps when you take a blow during the day.
I don’t weight myself but I think I started at 90kg and ended at 92.5kg.

Conditioning: