5/3/1 with Unreasonable Head Football Coach. Maxing Every 6wks?

Jim- Very grateful for your programming and wisdom. I’m a strength coach at a small private high school. I’ve always used 5/3/1 with my kids. Those who have committed have truly thrived.

All has been great.

However, I’m in the middle of a new head football coach transition. We’ve met and I’ve explained my beliefs on training to the best of my ability. He is absolutely dead set on maxing the kids every 6 weeks. I’m not at the point in my career where I can just find greener grass, so I’m going to have to bite the bullet.

My question is, in your opinion, is the base 5/3/1 program ideal for maxing every 6 weeks? If not, do you have any suggestions? Our off-season will consist of training 4 days per week. I’d appreciate any insight. Thanks.

When you say “Max” do you mean 1RM or a rep max?

1 rep max. He wants to “see the progress”

What a shitbag. Whatever you have been doing, and has been working for you AND you feel comfortable with - keep doing it. The only real piece of advice is to have the kids “sandbag” their 1RM’s. Or at least make sure the 1RM is done really fast (or whatever you want for criteria). The bench press is going to give you the biggest headache with young athletes as progress stalls hard…and well, I don’t need to tell you the why’s of this, it’s common sense.

The bottom line is I would never change the training for testing. This is similar to the NFL combine test or the new standarized testing that is all over schools - teaching for the test (or training for the test) does not mean the athlete/student gets any better.

You should probably explain this, albeit very delicately, to your athletes and what/how you are going to be doing this. At the end of the day, this new coach might be a good football coach but he’s an absolute idiot regarding training. I won’t even say “ignorant” because he’s of voting age, thus he’s stupid.