T Nation

5/3/1 Split Advice

I have been doing 5/3/1 for 8 months now with great results overall. I have used both the BBB template and also the Triumvirate. While I continue to make somewhat steady gains on lower body lifts, my pressing has come to a creeping halt over the past several months.

My current best sets for the lifts are as follows:

OH Press: 160 X 5
Deadlift: 385 X 8 and 460 X 1
Bench: 215 X 8 and 245 X 2
Squat: 265 X 10

I know I have a lot to learn when it comes to pressing technique so that is one factor at play, but I also find that after deadlifts and goodmornings my low back is still sore when bench day rolls around which poses a problem holding a decent arch. Another example is that although today I am supposed to Squat, my hamstrings are also still sore from Goodmornings as well.

I have been kicking around the idea of making either my squat or deadlift day a speed day and alternating them from week to week so one week I would squat my 5/3/1 sets and reps and on deadlift day do speed pulls etc. Either that or possibly switch to pulling Sumo for a while and see if that may somehow improve my pressing by allowing me to create more upper back tension and also not have my low back fatigue as quickly while working up.

Like I said, technique and creating tension are probably a good part of the problem to begin with. For the past few months I’ve had to lift off from a bench that doesn’t have adjustable posts whereas back home I have access to a Forza bench or power rack setup. I’m doing 1/4 rep to unrack instead of pulling the bar out and over with my lats and sometimes I feel like I’ve pressed out of my arch after a few reps.

Or maybe I should go by the philosophy of “There’s no such thing as overtraining, just undereating.” Haha.

Sorry if this post is all over the place. Just trying to figure out whether or not to tweak the 5/3/1 setup or try a new approach for a while.

What are your goals?