5/3/1 Questions

[Note: Changed the title to keep my questions in one spot and not open more threads]

Brief Bio… I’m a 45 y/o, 5’6" 300 lbs former state-level powerlifter and just getting back into the gym to drop weight, gain strength and mobility. I’ve been using 5/3/1 for 6 months with very low training max to start with. I’ve been keeping with +5/+10 per cycle for the main lifts as prescribed in 5/3/1.

Current Training Maxes
Squat: 250
Bench: 185
Deadlift: 250
Press: 125

Current 1RM (Yeah, went a little crazy with the Joker Sets)
Squat: 315
Bench: 275
Deadlift: 315
Press: 155

Goals
@ <200 lbs body weight
Squat: 550
Bench: 405 (Most important goal, the rest are afterthoughts really)
Deadlift: 550
Press: 275

My current plan (based on a previous post and comments from Jim) is as follows…

BBB - Two Cycles
Deload

SSL - Two Cycles
Deload

Spinal Tap - Two Cycles
Deload

… then back to BBB

By my calculations Spinal Tap will add 30-60 pounds on my TMs in 2 months. My questions are…

1. Has anyone here done Spinal Tap? One Cycle? Two Cycles? Did you deload at 4th week or 7th week?

2. Is it too soon for me to think about Spinal Tap? Should I stick with the BBB/SSL rotation for another year and see where I am?

Thanks in advance.

… looking a little deeper into the forums I found the following…

1. One or two cycles doesn’t seem matter. Either works.

2. If doing Spinal Tap you’ll probably have to go 5 up/3 down to not get over loaded.

3. As a novice lifter K.I.S.S, keep it simple stupid. Probably better to stick with BBB/SSL rotation until I stop making progress. Then consider altering the plan.

4. Taking it slow will reduce the chance of injury and will still allow progress in strength, muscle mass, and fat loss.

… am I getting warmer?

Next Questions…

For assistance work (DB Bench Press for example) should there be warm-up sets or jump straight to the work sets? Also, should all 5 sets be at the same weight or ramp the weight up.