T Nation

5/3/1 Problem

I don't know how much of a problem this really is but i'd like to fix it. i have been following 5/3/1 for a few phases now and after each deload week my press is always weaker then i finished up with and the weight just feels like a ton. on week 1 i'm struggling to get 5-7 reps, week 2 i'm usaly able to get a fairly good 6 then on week 3 i'm able to get at least 5. does anyone else have a similar problem or know a fix/cause or do you see no problem and think i should just stop worrying about it?

I am just a 5/3/1 rookie and just on my 2nd cycle. But a couple of things come to mind.

Are you really deloading and taking it easy on everything including assistance work?

Are you underdoing/overdoing your warmup?

Are you still moving forward overall and making gains in the big picture?

It's no secret that gains in this movement are slow.

If you see overall gains, don't worry about it just keep pressing forward, or in this case, upward.

Not much, but hopefully something.

Not sure, but I have had issues with it too. Bench seems to be slowly making progress as well as squats, but deadlift and shoulder pressing haven't been as good. I've been doing the powerlifting version where you do the weeks as 3/5/1 instead. Almost wondering if the deloid is necessary. Been thinking of adding in some speed work. Hope you figure your issue out.

i deload the main lift as Rx'd and generally cut any pressing movements down and lower the intensity but up the volume on back work. i think my warm ups are pretty solid. and i am making some good progress, so nothing is terribly wrong, i'm just finding it odd that my progress only ever moves forward in week 3 still its good progress so i'm not sure if i should really concern my self at all

It seems like weeks 2 and 3 are going pretty well. Maybe you could just do the prescribed reps on week 1, then go for broke on 2 and 3. Try different things and see what happens.