5,3,1 Only Twice a Week

Hi guys i’ve been lifting for about 2 years now and have just done 3 cycles of 5,3,1 everything is going well improving strength and size, but i recently got a new job and now only have time to make it to the gym twice a week! Just wondering if anyone one has used the 5,3,1 program in a similar situation and if its worth sticking to 5,3,1 or changing to another plan with more volume involved???

P.S i know 5,3,1 is a great plan, i’m just not sure if i’ll see similar results if only using it twice a week.

Thanks in advance for any tips or knowledge

this past autumn/early winter I got incredibly busy with work and side jobs . 55 to 65 hour weeks . I dropped down to lifting twice a week , and my numbers did indeed improve each cycle . Im 47 if that matters at all .

the holidays threw me off a bit , but currently aiming to get thru a wave every 10 days/ish . for some reason 531 trashes my lower back , so when it’s good to go…I go .

If you stick to 5/3/1 there may be a few options on how to modify it, how this is done is up to you and may depend on which 2 days you can make it to the gym.

1. Run the normal program for 6 weeks doing 2 lifts per week. Skip deload

2. Combine 2 days at once so you do 4 lifts per week, keep deload

3. Combine 2 days but do the other 2 on their own day for 3 lifts per week, 4 weeks total + 5th week deload.

If your stuck going 2 days in a row I would probably do #1 but if your gym days are spread out the other choices will work too. I am not really aware of any programs that are made for 2 days a week, others would have to be modified also, so with that in mind 5/3/1 is probably just as good as anything else for your schedule.

Just use the template out of the book.

Day 1
Squat,Bench, 2-3 assistance lifts

Day 2
Deadlift,Military 2-3 assistance lifts

Lifting two days a week you shouldn’t need to deload

Day 1

Day 2