5/3/1 Log and Comments

Have just started 5/3/1 after getting it reccomended by some good friends, i bought the 2nd edition of the book and using a very handy online calculator have all my prescribed weights.

My 1rm’s were: Bench-115kg, squat-160kg, dead-180kg and OH-80kg. Not the biggest numbers on this site but i’m still young and hopefully this program will help me progress as it has for others.

I’m a semi professional rugby player (level 4 in England) so assistance exercises are being supplemented by dynamic and conditioning work (sleds, prowler, sprints, jumps, plyos and olympic movements) as well as specific rugby related training (currently 3-4 sessions a week).

I will update my progressions and any experiences, and advice from more experienced lifters would be greatly appreciated.

Sweet, another rugby player. I play in college (university) here in the states. I also use 5/3/1. Are you going to be logging here or in the training logs tab?

I also have a log here “college rugby training”

I was just going to log on here as another place for me to keep a track of my progress but ill have a look for the specific training logs.

I’ve been on all sorts of different programs from different clubs i’ve been a part of and at university and had varied results, i’m looking forward to seeing what 5/3/1 can produce.

What school are you at Chris?

Is that a strict overhead press or a push press? I’m curious cuz that weight is like a pretty high percentage of your bench. I really wish my OH press was that good relative to my bench press.

Its a push press, i haven’t been able to strict press much since a string of shoulder injuries. When i do the OH press workouts i strict press until i fail and then move onto a push press, hoping that after some time i wont have the need for the push press

[quote]benowen7 wrote:
I was just going to log on here as another place for me to keep a track of my progress but ill have a look for the specific training logs.