T Nation

5/3/1 for Women

I've been doing 5/3/1 for 14 months now with great success. Thanks for everything, Jim.

My question involves my wife and her monthly advancement in 5/3/1. She's 39, about 110 lbs, and due to start her second deload week tomorrow. When setting up her monthly worksheets, am I better off adding 5 lbs. to her squat/deadlift and 2.5 to her press/bench instead of the normal 10 and 5?

Thanks for your time, and thanks again for putting together such a great program.

My wife has been using 5/3/1 for about a year with great results.
She had no idea she was capable of the Gaines she has made.
That is the only change she made to the program…
2.5 lbs increase in the press and bench. And 5 lbs for the squat and dead.
She also tries to time/sync the deloads with her cycle.
It just makes sense.

[quote]Barry Sotero wrote:
I’ve been doing 5/3/1 for 14 months now with great success. Thanks for everything, Jim.

My question involves my wife and her monthly advancement in 5/3/1. She’s 39, about 110 lbs, and due to start her second deload week tomorrow. When setting up her monthly worksheets, am I better off adding 5 lbs. to her squat/deadlift and 2.5 to her press/bench instead of the normal 10 and 5?

Thanks for your time, and thanks again for putting together such a great program.[/quote]

Not Jim, but I would say the slower the better, especially considering the circumstances. With that said, I think it also depends on her goals and how experienced she is.

When my girlfriend first started 5/3/1, it was just after she had started lifting, so I had her increasing 2 or 3 pounds per cycle on ALL lifts. Now she’s much more comfortable with the lifts, and she has been increasing deadlift by 10 pounds/ cycle, squat by 5 pounds/cycle, and upper lifts by 2 or 3 pounds/cycle.