5/3/1 For Strongman

Jim, I am new to strongman and I am looking for templates that might suit my schedule. I came across your post here: Official Website | Jim Wendler - Elite Powerlifter & Strength Coach

However in your fist sentence you stated
“Provided that youâ??re not a strongman in training (i.e. you arenâ??t training for a contest), this is easy to do.”

Which is not my case. This would be my first contest in any weightlifting sport and I am paranoid about doing poorly and failing (Ill probably calm down once I get into a routine).

Google shows an alternative template (wont list the website since it is from a competitor to T-Nation) that follows the 5/3/1 protocol 3 days a week emphasizing OH press, Deadlifting, and events. Now, taking a look at the events day I know that will kick my ass and lead to an injury or burnout. One day of Log+Yoke+Farmers+Stones+Sled per week seems too intense for long term progress.

My research indicates that there is no one proven method to train for strongman. I am looking for your input on the topic in the context of your program, thank you for your help in advance.

I have been asked this many times - I just don’t have the experience competing in Strongman to even offer a healthy guess. Training the events is very stressful and all of that has to be accounted for in your lifting. However, I think every strongman has a good base of “just getting cock strong” in the weight room and that alone, at least for a beginner, will carry over to the events very well. That isn’t to say that you should ignore the events - just one has priority in the beginning.

Having said that, I also think it would be smart to perioidize your training. For example, during the off-season you would lift 3 times/week and do events once. As you prepare for a contest, you would lift 2 times/week and do the events twice. Now this isn’t set in stone but the IDEA seems smart to me. Again, I have ZERO experience with strongman training.