5/3/1 Cardio Question (I Did Read the Book)

I read the 5/3/1 book (highly recommended), and I just started the program today. What I like about it is it is simple and looks effective. My only question is this…

It recommends Prowler Pushes or Hill Sprints for cardio. I live in Manhattan (no hills) and I workout in a small NYSC (broke college kid, 20$ student memberships). If my only options are the equipment they have at the gym (treadmills, bikes, and elipticals), what is the best use of my energy for some good cardio. My only guess would be to turn the treadmill up to an incline, and sprint on an incline setting, but alas, I am a beginner and am looking to start off right, rather than F*** up my cardio, which is a huge part of training.

Thanks in advance

I recomend Tabata training. read this article:

Goals.

List them.

It has bearing on what we’ll recommend.

I am 6’1 195 22%bf, so I want to get more muscle mass, but have my abs show

so essentially gain muscle mass, but lose weight in the process.

I am more focused on aesthetics then strength

Any of the machines should work fine, provided you put forth enough intensity and effort. Hell, you really don’t even need a machine. Just go outside and find a long stretch of road, grass, dirt, whatever. Just start sprinting. That’s really all you have to do. I wouldn’t over-complicate things.

Hill sprints are an excellent form of cardio/conditioning exercise, but that does not mean that they are the ONLY exercise that will serve those purposes.

[quote]DanJS14 wrote:
so essentially gain muscle mass, but lose weight in the process.

I am more focused on aesthetics then strength[/quote]

Doesn’t work that way. Losing fat and gaining muscle at the same time are impossible for anyone but true beginners.

At your current body fat I suggest you lose some fat before bulking back up.

This requires a caloric deficit. Work on your diet, do some cardio and lift weights.