T Nation

5/3/1 Beginner Template Assistance, Questions

Hi, I’ve been lurking T-Nation since I started lifting and just created an account a while ago and I see lots of knowledgeable people and helpful people here.

I’ve been lifting for about 8 months now.
I did some calisthenics training for about a year before but programmed it badly so it really didn’t help much outside of some endurance.
I am 20 years old, 183 cm (6’0?), and around hovering around 80kg at the moment ( I started at around 72kg)

I did Starting Strength for about 3 months until I started stalling on basically everything but deadlift and then switched to Greyskull LP which I did for another 4 1/2 months.
My workout schedule looked like this:

MO:
Back Squat 5/5/5+
Bench Press or Overhead Press 5/5/5+(ABA BAB so 2x in one week 1x in the next)
Muscle up 1x (2-3 whatever was about 1-2 reps short of failure)
Pull ups 1x max reps (dead hang)
Dips 1x max reps

WE:
BP or OP 5/5/5+
DL 1x5+
Muscle up 1x (2-3)
Dips 1x max reps

FR
Back Squat 5/5/5+
Bp/Op 5/5/5+
Muscle up 1x (2-3)
Dips 1x max reps

My numbers right now are
Squat 3x5 92.5kg
Bench 3x5 75 kg
Deadlift 1x6 117.5kg
Overhead Press 3x5 50kg
Pull ups: 1x12
Dips 1x16
Muscle up 4x1 (rest pause, with a slight jump to start the movement)

The problem I had was the only lift thats been consistently going up has been my deadlift. Which is kind of surprising seeing how little I actually deadlift.
My Squat went up to 90kg 2 months ago and has only gone up 2.5kg. I have since then worked on form and halved my rest periods from 3 minutes to 90 seconds, but seeing how I’m a beginner I cant believe I’m really seeing adequate progress.
Overhead press also has been going up VERY slow and I’ve had multiple sessions where I couldn’t even hit my previous weight 3x5.

What confuses is me is that I have not missed a single workout since I’ve started, I get at least 7 1/2 to 8 hours sleep a day and I’ve been trying to get protein in every meal.