5/3/1 Beginner Progress

I’ve been lifting for about 9 months (after a 6 yr layoff); I bought and started 5/3/1 with the BBB assistance 3 months ago. I fucking love this program and I keep setting weight/rep records, which feels awesome. The main reason why it is working so well is because it is an actual program that I can follow and log numbers instead of just doing my own thing or whatever my trainer says to lift.

After three cycles, I feel like my progress is good except for in the Bench Press. I’ve improved by the following estimated 1RM by the following amounts in three months:

Deadlift: 40# improvement
Shoulder Press: 5# improvement
Squat: 12# improvement
Bench Press: 2.5# improvement

I’m not really sure why my bench isn’t going up at a similar rate to the other lifts, especially since I’m really just a beginner and didn’t have years of base work to begin with. I’m curious to see what others progress in this program has been like, and also if anyone has any advice. Like Wendler says, I’m taking it slow and starting light…so that may also have something to do with it. Even during cycle #3, on my 5/3/1 days (week 3) I am repping out at 5-7 reps for my “1 RM” lifts.

Usually the bench goes up more than that in beginners just with practicing better technique. Do you use an arch and keep tight while driving with your legs while you bench? You don’t have to have a huge arch, but you do need some arch to be able to use leg drive. What assistance lifts are you doing?

Maybe you need to adjust your max bench higher if you are repping that much.

[quote]smallmike wrote:
Usually the bench goes up more than that in beginners just with practicing better technique. Do you use an arch and keep tight while driving with your legs while you bench? You don’t have to have a huge arch, but you do need some arch to be able to use leg drive. What assistance lifts are you doing?

Maybe you need to adjust your max bench higher if you are repping that much.[/quote]