T Nation

5/3/1 and Recovery?

I am 38. I have been training for 20 years...PL, strongman, heavy kettlebells, grip stuff, with a 5 years drift into stand up paddling doing 20 mile runs. Never great, but somewhere on the radar at times. My interest in weights is tied to my career in psychiatric/corrections in which I am constantly sized up, often challenged and involved in struggles with my family of coworkers. I have always studied what type of lifting "put the rubber to the road" in the world of 300lb aggrivated patients etc.

I always lifted all out, looking for another lb or another rep, and doing so I made some lifts I never dreamed up and got bigger and bigger and bigger. I never feel "satisfied" or "accomplished" without pushing really hard, but getting older I just cannot recover and feelings of depression, chronic fatigue have crept in. I have been having chronic insomnia, and when I try to fall asleep I jump/twitch several times before my body finally relaxes...

I might say I am addicted to training hard and now that is not working for me and I wonder if anyone gets what I am saying.

I just read Jim W's newest artical and it threw me for a loop. It does not take long for the slack to come out of the 5/3/1 and it is hard hard work...he is talking about being able to do 5 and then only doing 3....with the low vol of this program I dont see how it can work without pushing...so if anyone as read that and can comment it.

I almost feel like I am not training so much to get better, but to push out that last rep is a high and accomplishment for me even if it is couterproductive I need that PR to feel accomplishment for the day, anyone relate to that? So the idea of cruzing is like drinking in moderation for an alcoholic maybe. I dont know. Just throwing this out for any comment.

Good post and question. And hopefully you get some good advise.