5/3/1 and Conditioning for First Responders

I am a rookie volunteer firefighter and know that Jim recommends Krypteia for firefighters, police officers, and military personnel. I recently started this program; however, as heart attacks are the leading cause of line of duty deaths for firefighters, I am somewhat concerned with the lack of cardio. I understand that the fast-paced nature of the program is cardio itself and that it could be risky to implement hard conditioning into Krypteia, but does anyone have any experience with adding effective conditioning/cardio to the program without compromising the lifts and running the risk of overworking oneself?

Thank you!

If only I wrote an entire section on running/conditioning in the same book as the Krypteia program was explained - all about what to do and how to program it.

5 Likes

My bad on this one, Jim. I’ve read Forever multiple times and I remember the conditioning section. A better question would have been since - if I recall correctly - you warn against running while doing Krypteia unless the lifter is an experienced runner, how would you go about implementing sprints for a less experienced or just bad runner? I assume starting with a reduced volume (i.e. 800m/workout to start) and cautiously working your way up?

Thanks, Jim.

I can tell you this from someone whos been in the FD for a while as long as your running programs like krypteia you are doing more than most. Youll know when you are doing too much.

2 Likes

I did and do krypteia exactly as written, or use the same philosophy of supersetting with hard assistance. The conditioning I do on a normal week is two days of soccer (which is probably hard/medium conditioning, and has plenty of sprinting) and doing a 5 mile run at maybe an 8:30 pace. I also tried to get a yoga session in. This worked well. I always took at least one day from any planned workouts.