5/3/1 5 or More Days per Week

Ok, so I know I’ll get flamed for this, but here goes…

I have been doing 531 for 18 months, mostly BBB as written. More recently I have added a bit of variety to assistance work, but still basically 5-6 sets of 10 of a compound movement relevant to the day, some pull ups and 3 sets of curls on upper body days, with short (<10 mins) conditioning with no weight- e.g. tabata Burpees, some KB swings etc a few times a week depending how I feel. I have a bit more time in my life now and a gym in my garage, so I would really like to train 5 days a week, maybe more…

Anyone got a plan for this- same volume split over more days? Add a power clean/heavy conditioning day? I was thinking about adding a neck/traps day and/or a neck/traps/core day, but will Jim hunt me down for being a tool?

I know the “dont mess with the program…” response, but I am just an old guy trying to get a bit strong and look better naked. Training has to be fun. At the moment for me fun includes getting in the garage 5 or 6 days a week, so I want it to happen and 531 has done me a lot of good, so I will never abandon the principles.

Here is what I see based on your comment. If you think you can do 5/3/1 5 or more days a week, you may not be hitting the main sets hard enough. I cannot imagine anyone being able to do this program more than 4 days a week with the kind of intensity that Jim intended.

Do this:

-4-day template, one lift per day
-Push the last set HARD
-Do the triumvirate version
-Weight vest walking on all off days

That would be extremely well-balanced and plenty of work if you do it right. You could even end your squat or deadlift day with heavy prowler/sled work if you wanted.