47 YO and Need to Finally Loose the Gut - Help !!

Okay - so I need advice … I’ve been lifting for about 25 years - always big - but never really had abs… I’ve been working on cardio, better eating, etc… but the thing I’m afraid of is how to get lean without looking really thin and possibly still ending up with love handles… just smaller… or worse - loose skin around the waist.

I’m 47, 6’1, 235pds, my bf% is high - about 15%… I lift 4 - 5 days a week and have been putting in about 30 - 40 minutes of cardio about 3 - 4 times a week. So - if you’ve been there and know how to make this happen - let me know. thanks !

hi dude, Im in the same boat as you just 8 years younger. I normally follow a low carb diet but as of the last week have been on a ketogenic diet and measuring my ketones with ketostix. I find it hard to lose weight unless in ketosis, low carbish type diets help me sort of maintain my weight but i need to get serious, so in last 5 days have lost 3kg/6lb approx, i know some of this is water weight but its a good start, dont feel like im starving so appetitte is well controlled on this type of diet. Im 6ft1 was 125kg/268lb? as of 5 days ago.

So Im aiming for 100kg/220lb, thats my weight in my early twenties when i was playing footy(rugby league)although i think i have more muscle now than then. if your a natural fatty like me i suggest google atkins diet or ketogenic diet. I look forward to how your going.

Cheers!!!

While we think, exercise, diet and rest, we have to get serious about each of them. Diet is a really big 1/3 for those of us over 45. Really pay attention to eliminating sugars salt and bad fats.