46 YO New Liifter, Recovery, Etc.

I’ve been doing Beginning Strength 5x5 for about 18 months. I’ve never lifted before in my life. Last year I finally had my T levels checked and I came back low normal T - 4 pts above the lowest in the range 254 250/1100. Since then I’ve gotten on HRT. I feel awesome and I’m progressing again adding plates etc.

My current workout is M-W-F. I’m wondering, how many of you are having issues with recovery if you workout daily? I tried it before T replacement last year and I stalled and needed to de-load frequently. I’m wondering if now that my T levels are normalized I can handle working out daily. I suspect I’ve been low normal my whole life so I have some catching up to do.

How many of you that are over 40 lift daily? How is your recovery?

3%,

Hello and welcome. I am about your age and I lift anywhere from 3-5 days per week, I find it’s not the frequency that impacts my recovery, but the volume/intensity issues.
Like a lot of people I will get a bug in my ass about “not doing enough” and then adding days/sets/exercises in an attempt to feel more productive, but I tend to get my best results when I get more rest and control my volume. When I do too much I invariably hurt myself and end up sidelined for a bit.
Honestly if you are making gains on 3 days a week I would stay on that schedule until progress stalls, getting results with less work/time commitment is an awesome thing.

I guess the thing is that I feel like I need to catch up. I’m going to wait till I have a full 6 weeks on HRT and see how I feel to crank up volume. Its strange to realize that all this time it was my lack of Total T that was the issue, my Free T has always been decent. I should easily be 50% larger than I am given the weight Ive moved over the last 18 months…sigh

[quote]threepercenter wrote:
I guess the thing is that I feel like I need to catch up. [/quote]

Stop feeling like that :slight_smile: