46 YO, 2 Years Into Lifting

I’ve been lifting in my garage for going on 2 years now. Using an Olympic bar, cage and bench. After realizing that the 5x5 program I was on really wasn’t providing the gains that it should have I discovered that I was low T at 254 on 250-1100 range. I’ve been on HRT now for 2 months and feel great. My T is 1097 on the same range now.

My recovery is such that I am able to work out 6 days a week now and recently added metcon style workouts the 3 days I’m not lifting.

Since I began eating cleanly 2 years ago I’ve changed my body comp fairly substantially and have reaped many health benefits. Calipers say I’m in the 10% body fat range where I was 26% when I started. My blood pressure is great having been stage 3 hypertensive. I haven’t lost much weight, I’m 5’9" weighing in at 185 most days but my waist is smaller and I’m gaining definition.

I want to put on some muscle now that I can. I’ve been doing 5x5 SS workouts for 2 years now, with dumbbell work when I’m away from my oly weights, which is not often.

My goal is to look damn good in a bathing suit. I was broader shoulders, a classic V shape chest and larger arms and biceps and to have my legs be bigger.

Should I switch to a 3x10 at 85% of max? Or stick to 5x5 and continue adding plates as quickly as I can.

Any advice on a good program for maximum hypertrophy would be greatly appreciated.

I see that the mods banished your post to the old folk’s home. Welcome, sonny.

When you say you are “able to work out 6 days a week now and recently added metcon style workouts the 3 days I’m not lifting,” does that mean you are lifting 3 days and doing something else the other 3 days? (Or maybe it mean your weeks have 9 days in them?) ;^) Seriously though, what is a ‘metcon style workout’?