45 Year Old Complete Newb

Background: 45 yr old, 6’5", 240#, 30# overweight, severe rheumatoid arthritis, 35% mobility left in knees, (can only walk about 50 yds before pain stops me) losing mobility and strength daily (all areas), been a hardcore couch potato for 15 years, no knowledge of exercise physiology, basic understanding of nutrition

Goals: increase useable strength, increase flexability to increase mobility, lose a healthy amount of fat

I don’t ever expect to be Mr America, or even Mr. All-City. I just want to get stronger (useable strength), more flexible, and more mobile. Any suggestions on where to start?

I would say first and foremost ask your physician before starting anything.

As for Diet and training this thread here will help A LOT; Newbie thread
http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do?id=550116

Come on back with any further questions so we can all help,

And good luck on the lifestyle change,
Phill

Bill

You have come to the right place. I’m a 43 yr old who, until March 2005 hadn’t worked out for 20 yrs, so you are in good company.

Take your time, learn, and apply what you learn. The advice here is good, and will help you alot.

With arthritis, you will want to pay special attention to diet and types of exercise.

Welcome!

Phil,

Doctor is all for me getting more exercise of any sort and losing weight. He suggested it, but had no suggestion of what kind of exercise. I’m going to bike for cardio (I have a stationary and an old cruiser) as it’s easier on my knees than walking or runing. What I need is exercise ideas that will allow me to increase flexibilty and build me up enough that I can safely use weights later. I’m not looking to be a body building competitor or to be in the worlds strongest man series. I just want a better lifestyle, now and in my declining years (between 80-110 yrs old).