T Nation

42 and Just Starting TRT

Hello, as the title states I’m 42 and just starting TRT. I am posting to get some feedback/ advice to get some confirmation that I’m doing the right thing as far as making the decision to start therapy. I will try to keep this succinct, but subjects of this matter require detail as will as history. So here it goes. Growing up I have always been an athlete/ athletic probably more than average. In my early 20’s at college I started lifting/ dieting/ getting into fitness. This lasted pretty consistently until my early 30’s or so. During this time I was always able to gain strength quickly and easily, more so than most of the people I lifted with and did this at a lighter weight ( 5’ 9" 165-170lbs) and lower body fat % (around 10-12%) while almost always trying to be in a calorie deficit. Think I had a 315lb bench at that weight. I would do strength and cardio 6 days a week, hit every muscle group 2x a week.