T Nation

41 & Need New Routine

41 years old and I’ve been lifting for a few months now after weaning myself off machines.

I’ve been overworking, doing full body workouts 3 days a week (1.5 hours in the gym), followed by an hour of cardio or an hour of swimming.

In short, I’m a cripple from this routine and not seeing gains after my initial few months.

New plan is…3 days a week lift weights…each of the 3 days does various parts of the body with as limited an amount of overlapping muscle group work on different days as possible.

I’ve started doing deadlifts as my back is now strong enough (only do 90 lbs until I get the form perfect) and about 12 or so other basic exercises.

I am just now starting to do squats. These are difficult for me due to my weight (I’m very overweight), so I’m currently sticking to “air squats” until my form is better, weight less and core stronger.

I’m hoping someone can point me to a basic 3-day routine that can accomplish what I’m trying to do. My non lift days will be cardio and swimming.

Anyway, looking for suggestions on a Mon Wed Fri routine. My bench press is horrid…120 lbs max 8 reps x 3 sets with a smith cage. Doing a normal bench w/o the smith…50 lbs…my stabalizer muscles are weak.

Thank you !

I think your progress will slow down if you only work each bodypart once a week. If your goal is fat loss you are better off sticking to 3 days of compound multiple joint exercises.

This program is a 3x a week total body workout however the rep ranges are different everyday so it helps to keep from burning out -
http://www.T-Nation.com/...ic.do?id=508031

If you are just starting out squatting watch Dan Johns FitCast episode. IMHO it is a great primer for olympic style squatting http://video.google.com/...301858251744&hl

[quote]:David41 wrote:
41 years old and I’ve been lifting for a few months now after weaning myself off machines.