T Nation

40 Year Old Recovery

Should a 40 yo stay away from an upper/lower split working each muscle group twice a week in favor of the 4(or5) day split working each one time a week? I'm wondering if my Cns and joints can recover well enough at 40 to hit the muscles twice a week.

you never know until you try it. only advice is to work into it over time. don't overwhelm yourself with too much too soon - that's assuming you are just starting up

Nah. I've been lifting for about 2 years always with a 4 day split. I've never tried a upper/lower program or anything hitting the muscle groups twice per week. I kinda figured it'd be a try and find out what happens deal.

If you're trying to make gains I don't think once a week is enough. If you don't have any limiting factors other than being 40 years old you should be able to recover fine.

I'm 42 have been training for 20+ years. I'm currently making great gains on 5 x 5, Mon-Deadlift, Weds-Front squat and Fri-Back squats and I'm doing 5 work sets not 2 warm ups and 3 work sets. A bit of upper body thrown in afterwards and recovering just fine. Don't use your age as an excuse to train less often. Train as often as you can until you start to struggle and then take a week off or deload.

I think you'll make much more progress training this way than working each muscle once a week on a split routine. A muscle only needs 4 or 5 days to recover if you're training beyond failure, forced reps etc. I think you could easily work a muscle 4 or 5 times a WEEK! at any age as long as you steer clear of working to failure. I think as you age you need more stimulation not less. Older muscles are stubborn!!

x2

People at 40 are like people at 20, everybody is going to respond differently to stimulus. I get bored training less than 4-5 times per week. IMHO food and rest mean more towards recovery than training time.