4 Exercise Experiment

I’ve been training regularly for about 15 years and have tried every system known to man. I’ve mostly utilized movement-based strength programs like 5/3/1 but have also used body part splits that included “calves and traps day” etc. Almost anything will work and variety is key – but not at the expense of consistency.

I recently started training at a warehouse gym where a lot of high school athletes and young bodybuilders train. Naturally, these kids have a lot of questions. Back in 1995 questions were all we had since there were fewer resources like T-Nation and EliteFTS. Specifically they want to know what program I’m following right now and I’m always glad to offer advice. I try to emphasize a focus on the basics like heavy compound lifting.

Whether you’re trying to be a bodybuilder or powerlifter you can’t go wrong with basic heavy lifting, especially when you’re first starting out. Pick a program, stick with it, and watch yourself grow. This doesn’t mean that they should avoid isolation movements for different muscle groups – it just means that you should learn to bench before you add in cable crossover drop-sets.

As you might imagine, this advice falls largely on deaf ears.

So I came up with an experiment, using myself as the guinea pig. I want to teach the young bucks under my tutelage that it is both possible and effective to use a minimalist approach to exercise selection (so long as the volume, frequency, and intensity are where they need to be).

The experiment will go as follows:

1. EXERCISE SELECTION:
    I will only perform 4 exercises for the duration of this experiment (TBD probably 2 months) I will include 1 upper body push, 1 lower body push, 1 upper body pull, and 1 lower body pull. I have selected INCLINE BENCH PRESS, SQUAT, PULLUP, & CONVENTIONAL DEADLIFT as my 4 exercises. My personal favorite exercise is the Military Press, but Incline Bench Press is a better catch-all upper body push.

2. VARIATIONS: