38 Years Old and at a Crossroad

Hey Fellow Lifters,
I’ve come here looking for some advice because I am at a spot where I have a lot of freedom and resources but I’m lacking direction in my training. I’ve been lifting weights for 20+ years and haven’t really been able to reach what I consider an acceptable level of strength and muscle (if that is even possible). My best lifts are 275 bench, 365 squat, 435 deadlift, 165 OHP.

I may get some flak for this but at this point in my life I’m more interested in a good physique and health than I am really pushing my maxes. My joints get sore when I lift really heavy (for me) too often.

The problem is I don’t really know how to get where I want to go. I have hired trainers (some very expensive) who don’t seem to have a clue. I’m not expert but I know enough to tell when someone is full of BS.

I know I don’t ever want to stop lifting. I can’t decide if I should just go and lift and enjoy it or if I should try to find a structured program that moves me toward specific goals. I thought I would come here and discuss with some other lifters who are also older and may have been at this point as well. I can provide a current pic if it helps.

Thanks!

No one here is going to give you static for pursuing your interests.

If you’re dissatisfied with your physique, throw up a pic and tell us what it is you’re unhappy about. Also, lay out your current training regimen and diet.

Thanks much.
I currently don’t have a specific program. I was working with a trainer who mainly had me doing circuit type training and TRX work. I mainly can’t seem to keep a decent amount of muscle and get lean. I’m following an IIFYM style diet with 2100 cals and 35 carb 35 protein 30 fat.

Currently 5’10" and 185.

[quote]Kruxx wrote:
I currently don’t have a specific program.
[/quote]

Fair enough, but you’re doing something, yes? How often are you lifting? Are you doing any cardio?

Ugh.