T Nation

37 Years Old, First Timer

Hello everyone, I’m new to everything about the world of weight training, I’m a recovering agoraphobic was agoraphobic since i was 18. Got diagnosed with Ulcerative colitis a few years ago, which was both a blessing and a curse. blessing as it started getting me out of my agoraphicness, curse cause i mean it’s a life long disease, and after that my dad had to have triple by pass heart surgery due to a heart attack(he lived) but it got me thinking about my overall health and i’d like to get into the gym, i’ve already signed up, they gave me a tour and before i could even ask any questions the floor manager had seen a friend and ran off to talk to them. I just kind of have a few questions about somethings, i’m currently going every monday, wednesday, friday mainly just to make it a habit but not really doing to much while im there.

My questions after trying to read up on things is basically, where the fuck to i begin? I see workout plans for beginners, ectomorphs, mesomorphs, veterans, I don’t really know what i need. I just know where I am, my own personal stats, and goals that I wouldn’t mind hitting.

Height : 5’5(and a half) yeah, i know. i’m short.
Weight : 137lbs.
Shoulders : 41"
Natural Waist : 30 1/2"
Hips : 36"
Wrist : 6 and 3/8ths

I actually like the weight i’m at i’d really just like to loose the body fat that I have.
So those are kind of my goals. 135~140lbs less body fat.

Sorry if i’ve left information that I didn’t need to, just was reading things like ectomorphs, mesowhatevers, endocreatures. and figured i really didnt know what the hell i was reading, so i figured i’d come ask… what the fuck is a good starting point.

Thanks for reading and helping!
–Goddammitjosh

Ignore all that crap - in most cases it’s over analyzing of minutia unless you have been lifting for quite awhile.
Also, ecto-, endo-, and meso- morphs is a concept based in psychology not physicality.