T Nation

33 Y/O New to TRT with Questions

I’m new to t nation and new to trt. I went into the doctor complaining of low drive, motivation, memory fading, and ability to make decisions limited. He said generally it will only be testosterone. So he tested me.

Results were…

356 total T range 249-836
87.4 free range 87.4-224

Went back a week later and talked about options he said we have to do another test.
This was after looking up treatment options. So I got another test lab done…results were…

339 total range 249-836
No free test done
8.1 LH range 1.2-8.6
6.09 Fsh range 1.27-19.26

Bloodwork all showed normal ranges including cbc, liver functions, kidneys, proteins, no thyroid or pituitary test done.

He diagnosed hypogondadism based on low t and high LH.

I have been on androgel 1.62 for a month now 2 pumps a day. The first three weeks I felt awesome (before the testing I started at the gym for two months lost 15lbs but continually got weaker for some reason too). It seems now I am reverting back to the way I felt before and the weakness at the gym is coming back. I have another visit for labwork scheduled in five days and was wondering what else I needed to get checked. I am going to ask for thyroid to be checked as well as e2.

I asked for shots initially because with the gel at one bottle its $50 a month with a rebate from maker…if he tells me to double dose its 150 a month with my insurance. Shots are $30 standard dose for three month supply. When I said that he immediately referred me to the endo across the hall from him. At first he prescribed me the patch but that would be $250 for the lowest dose a month.