32 Weeks to First Meet. Freaking Out

Well, after careful consideration, I have decided to pinpoint a power-lifting meet and GO FOR IT. I am shooting for a 100% RAW in my hometown… which is 32 weeks from now. My thing is… WHAT DO I DO?? My brain is spinning with weight classes, programming, etc, etc, etc…

So I would like some input on priorities.
Basically, my stats are as follows
Weight: 338-340
BF-33-38% (Navy tape measure)
Deadlift: 365
Bench Press: 350
Strict Curl: 120

What do you think I should do? IDK if i want SHW, so 307 lbs. is in the window, maybe even 274. I’ve been lifting on/off for 5-6 years with about 2.5 years of it in the gym. What would you do to make it the best meet possible? Lose fat? Build lifts? Mix it up? What are good programs to follow?

I want to at least maintain my bench and push my deadlift to 500 (hopefully mostly technique work)

How’s your squat?

I’d work on slowly leaning out just for health and then work on training the comp lifts to make sure you get white lights. That’ll drive them all up. I’d go with something like 531, Cube or 5th Set. Whatever you pick, follow it exactly as written.

Thirty two weeks is a really good length of time to get ready.

2 Likes

I agree with Mark. Normally people will tell you not to worry about weight class for your first meet but 32 weeks is a long fucking time. You could feasibly spend 20 weeks getting into 308 range then run a 12-week peaking cycle for the meet from there and focus solely on strength.

2 Likes

340 is pretty hefty. Personally I would say go on all out fat loss till you get to say only 260-270. Just do it while still keeping in heavy lifting.

Try this approach -will get you bull strong as well as lean you out fast…

1 Like