T Nation

30g Fiber - Too Much Effort

Hi,

In trying to consume the 30g of fiber RDA, I find that I am eating much more and actually gaining weight.

Is this a normal reaction? before this change, I had been eating 1 big meal and 1 snack a day for the past 5 years.

Now that I am conscious of the 30g fiber, I HAVE to eat at least 4 times a day. I capitalized “have” because I am not even hungry, but if I don’t eat that often, I will never reach the 30g a day.

I work out 3 times a week and am still gaining weight. I am pretty sure it is not muscle gain as I do not see it.

Any advise here? I’d like to go back to my old eating habits and forgo the 30g fiber requirement. At least I won’t be gaining weight, but I’m worried I will not get definition in the upper body.

Thanks in advance!

You have stumbled upon a bodybuilding forum. The goal for most of us is weight gain including more muscle mass with the eventual goal of leaning down once that mass is built. You seem confused about this.

Are those “fiber” sources from sugar-filled processed foods, or are they healthy sources? I can’t think of another reason why you’re putting on weight. I know that it’s not the fiber though. You can’t get fat off of 30 grams of fiber a day.

If you are, then maybe you have some major health problems. And don’t get confused with the difference between WATER/Glycogen gain and fat gain. Many newbs do.

[quote]nagarelli wrote:
Hi,

In trying to consume the 30g of fiber RDA, I find that I am eating much more and actually gaining weight.

Is this a normal reaction? before this change, I had been eating 1 big meal and 1 snack a day for the past 5 years.

Now that I am conscious of the 30g fiber, I HAVE to eat at least 4 times a day. I capitalized “have” because I am not even hungry, but if I don’t eat that often, I will never reach the 30g a day.

I work out 3 times a week and am still gaining weight. I am pretty sure it is not muscle gain as I do not see it.