30 Total Reps Of 80%?!

like the title says, 30 total reps of 80%!?!?!?! I dont believe i can do that seeing as how thats about 210 lb and my max is 270. maybe i could do that 3 times for a couple sets, but 10 sets? i dont think i could do that. is this strange that my reps are far lower than my max?

im not new to weight lifting, but i am new to SMART weight lifting. anyone care to enlighten me on this? god i hate sounding stupid.

You haven’t provided a reference point. Where did you get the idea to do 30 reps with 80%? 80% of what? What is the goal, exercise, and source?

Damn it people, don’t post without a reference point.

Rolo.

yeh i figured that would be a problem but i thought it would be understood. i dont know why. anyway, thats from Waterbury’s 10x3 method of bench. he recommends 82.5% of 1rm, and i definitely cant do that for 30 total reps. the point was is this wierd or normal, i mean whats the deal. should i be able to complete that workout no problem?

I’m guessing he’s refering to 10x3 programs and 80% 1RM. Basically focus on strength with additional hypertrophy.

I can do it for some exercises, but not for others. I have less problems doing 10x3 80% with bench and horizontal rows than with lat pulls. Prob depends on how you’ve trained your muscles, fiber ratios, and all that.

TS

Waterbury’s 10x3?

My guess is you are referring to a Waterbury type workout–10x3??

If you have never tried it before don’t pre-freak at the concept. There are some who may have issues with fiber type and particular endurance, but surprisingly, most can do this.

If not, work up to it by slightly lowering your starting weight and then increasing the weight the last few sets. Keep increasing the number of sets you do the 80% weight until you are doing your 10 sets. Then go up 2-5% as prescribed in the workout.