30 Percent Body Fat...wth?

I’ve been lifting for about 5 months now and wanted to check my bf so I look online at the navy bf calculater, take a couple measurements and bam, it says I’m 30%. If I am I am but I was thinking I was a bit leaner than that. I was a fluffy 6’2 265 five years ago before starting to watch what I was eating and now I’m apparently a fluffy 6’2 at 190. Do I look 30%.

uhhhhhhhhhhhh…no

No way brahhh

Not even close.

S

Find the sailboat in that picture!

I was approached on the street by some PR guys trying to recruit members for a new gym that had just opened up. They had these hand-held bodyfat reader things and one of the PR chicks was like “care to try?” So I accepted…

27% fucking bodyfat the damn thing said I was! I was close to showing the chick my abs then punching her right in the face.

Soooo I’m hoping some of these comments mean I’m not looking like 30%. Im kinda wondering what to do now? First time I’ve ever seen what looks to be abs. It would be nice to leave them there for the summer but I still am In the trying to get bigger mode. Can I turn my bf I have now into muscle, say the same weight but look tore up for summer or am I to small to even think that?

265 five years ago and never going back unless its at 10% or something crazy like that!

you look 15% AT THE MOST, probably closer to 10-12ish imo

Why are you using the Navy’s method of fat estimation?? It estimates your body fat percentage based on your abdomen circumference minus your neck circumference at whatever height you are. You can “lose” 3% bf by gaining 2 inches around your neck.

You must be doing the assessment incorrectly. Even if you had a 15" pencil neck, you’d have to have a 43" waist. That doesn’t match what I’m seeing in your picture. Try again. Reference pages 47 & 55.

http://www.gwu.edu/~navyrotc/docs/6110_1h.pdf

[quote]tork94 wrote:
you look 15% AT THE MOST, probably closer to 10-12ish imo[/quote]