T Nation

3 Months to Do a 1 Arm Pull-Up

I made a bet with my flatmate that in 3 months I could do a one arm pullup. I could do with some ideas on how to achieve this. I started training badly to do a OAP a few months ago and have beastskills.com bookmarked.

Right now I can do 3 strict pull-ups with an added 28kg of weight. I weight 65kg now. My right arm is stronger that my left arm at the moment. If I try to do a OAP with my right arm, starting at an angle of about 135degress, I can pull myself up to 90d. With my left arm I can only get up to about 110d.

My secret weapon is 142 caps of MAG-10 and 160 caps of TRIBEX. They are a year past the best before date, are they still ok to use? If I do go on a 2 week MAG-10 phase I’ll be concentrating on maximum strength increases and not size, since added weight in detrimental to me.

Thanks.

if you froze the MAG-10 caps they should be ok… using MAG-10 isn’t going to help all that much the strength gains you garner are going to be from an increase in lean muscle mass which will probably keep your relative strength at par. Save the MAG-10 till you want to slap on slabs of muscle…

right now you want to get STRONGER.

one arm PULLUP? or one arm CHINup… thats important to know… beastskills i your best bet

if you had more time weighted chinups would be your bread and butter, but you’re not THAT far off from the strength you need

this isn’t exact because you a gave me a 3rep max but you need to be able to generate ~143lbs of pulling power with one arm…

you can pull an additional ~62lbs

143/2 = ~72

62/2= 31

72+31= 103

you need to be able to pull 80more lbs on your total weighted chin (40lbs each arm)

its actually quite a bit less than that probably like 60-65lbs but… point is you’re not strong enough yet to overcome the need for technique and intermuscular coordination.

imo, start practicing 1 arm negatives because the most important part you’re going to need is the body control…