3 Day vs 5 Day Split: Pros/Cons

I’ve been training now for around 6 years am have mostly trained using 3-4 day splits, but I’ve never really used a 5 day split. Having watched the way the Pros train, around 95% of them use a 5 day split training a single body part each day. Now obviously I’m not gonna go ahead & copy the Pros exactly, but there must be a reason why the vast majority of them do 5 day splits as opposed to 3-4 day splits, and I was just wondering why.

The only reason I could think of for using a 5 day split, would be if you wanted to train a particular muscle TWICE per week as opposed to just once, but having spent the past few hours reading up on people’s 5 day splits & the 5 day splits the Pros use (again, not copying them, just observing) they tend to just train a single body part each day, once per week (as opposed to twice), which looks something like the following.

[u]Typical 5 Day Split[/u]:

Mon - Chest
Tue - Back
Wed - Legs
Thu - Shoulders
Fri - Arms

As opposed to…

Typical 3 Day Split:

Mon - Chest/Triceps
Wed - Legs/Shoulders
Fri - Back/Biceps