T Nation

3-4 Reps a Set Enough for Size?

Hi, I am not really a newbie in the sense that I have been lifting for about 3 years. But in that 3 years while I've gained some nice muscle (5'11'' from a puny 135 to now 155), I have found my progress to have stagnated for about 2 years now. About 2 weeks ago I realized I just wasn't lifting heavy enough. It seems to be working, and I am getting stronger. However, I am using weight that I can only really move for 5 reps at the most. Is that enough? or am I wasting my time? Before this I was lifting for 8-12 reps a set, but like I said I haven't made real progress in a while.

Also what do you think about this split, I am trying to gain size.
My routine:

Upperbody twice a week:
Standing Barbell Rows x3
Standing Military Press x3
Bench Press x 3
Chins
Dips x3
Seated Rows x 3
Lateral Raises x3
Seated Behind the head tricep ext x3
Barbell curls x3

I know that seems like alot but it only takes me an hour.

Lower Body
Squats x3
Leg press with feet high for Hammies Glutes x 3
Abs
Calf raises

So you are doing ONE set per exercise?

For hypertrophy it's usually 3-6 sets for 6-12 reps...

no no, the "x3" is the number of sets. three sets of every exercise

5x5 + food = muscle pretty simple equation that works

5x5 + food= 25food? jk :wink:

Yes, but if you divide by Pi the remainder = muscle

This is why I fail at math.

Lifting the same weights for 2 long years... Disturbing... It would make me question the way I do things.

Read the stickies in this forum for advice.
And yes, a load you can lift 5 times makes you bigger.

Strength > "bigger"

you sure? you just said you fail at maths :slightly_smiling:

More than the smaller one eats the bigger one. Doing 5x5 is more for strength gains, IMO. However, there will be muscle hypertrophy but in less amounts compared to strength.