2nd Week of Smolov Base Cycle

I’ve been lifting for several years and have plateaued in my squat, for a variety of reasons: injury, running, etc. I have made it through the first week of the base cycle, and it doesn’t seem so bad – no DOMS or anything. I was previously under hte impression that the second week was a percentage increase, but I now realize that it is a set 20 lbs, no matter what your max is. That is almost 10% of my max., so on Monday I will be doing 80% for 4x9, which seems crazy. I’ve always been told that you should be able to do your 80% for only 8 reps.

Am I just being a wus? Should I power through? Does anyone have any thoughts on this? Mostly on the smolov posts, no one has a max near me, so I can’t get a good idea of how I compare, or what sort of results I should expect.

I am a 150 lbs, 30 year old woman with a 100kg max. I do full depth squats.

The Smolov pound increase is designed for men with a pretty big starting 1RM to begin with. I have seen several female lifters back down the increase in the base phase to 10 lbs./ second week / 5lbs. third week. You need to use your judgment on this but you should not feel like you are skimping on the program if you decided to back down accordingly.

Pop into Snap’s log/thread in the O-35 section and ask, she is a female power lifter and I am pretty sure (not 100%) that she ran Smolov and did the 10 lbs./ 5 lbs. adjustment.

Take this with a grain of salt because I’m a guy and I know there’s fair differences in recovery ability and things like that. But

I just finished smolov and my max went from 265X1 to 285X2. So my max wasn’t far off from where yours is to start.

The 20 pound leap is freaking tough, and honestly a mental test more than anything. I honestly thought week 2 was harder than week 3.