2nd Pull Help

Hi

Im just getting into the oly lifts, im trying to sort myself out with a coach but in the mean time im just reading up and watching as many vids as i can.

one part im struggling to understand is the 2nd pull is the objective here to drive the bar up by jumping; emphasising the hips and thighs when you jump OR are you driving the bar up with the hips and the jump is just a result of that?

the reason i ask is ive tried both and using the jump it dosnt feel powerful enough, though im not using weight so… and with the hip drive i seem to shag that bar a bit too much?

Thanks in advanced

Maybe this will help:

For what it is worth (not a lot, admittedly)…

I thought that the idea was to transmit the force from the hip drive to the bar so that the bar goes up. So then the idea that if more force is transmitted to the bar than is necessary to move it (if the bar is too light or if there isn’t a bar) then the body goes up.

When I was just learning to powerclean and trying to get the hang of hip drive I’d practice from the hang with a broomstick. Loose arms (like in rowing). Would feel a pop to the stick where it was trying to fly up. Then rinse and repeat with the bar. Then rinse and repeat with weight.

I’d be interested to know what others think.