2busy's Training Log of Solitude

About me:

I am a 49 yo guy who has been through a bit in my life

When I was 15, I lost control of a motorcycle in a wet corner and struck a bridge pillar. I sustained major internal injuries (liver damaged, collapsed lung) broken arm, jaw, and ribs 6 weeks later, I was able to go back to school. Needless to say, no sports for my sophomore year it actually set the tone for no sports in high school.

I had another motorcycle wreck when I was 22 (you’d think I would learn…) where a car cut me off and I ended up landing on my helmet about 60 feet down the street. So now add a compressed vertebrae onto the list of injuries.

I started playing ice hockey for my mid-life crisis… It’s a challenging sport involving strength and technical skill. And also can provide it’s own dangers. Attached is the x-ray of my left leg after the doc’s gave me a titanium upgrade in 2006. In case you were wondering, the boards on the rink do not give or flex at the ice level…

That was a defining moment for me. The doctors said I would have to use a cane for the rest of my life. Along with a vacation picture that made me realize I was not who I wanted to be.

I was able to jog through a 10K just over a year after the accident.

I started weight lifting when my oldest daughter entered a figure competition and I saw her compete in the Natural Nebraska 2007 event.

I was able to trim myself from 235 to 170, and I have put 20 lbs back on, but it’s muscle instead of fat.

My main goals for lifting are to continue improving my strength, and to cut my body fat down to 10%.

Thanks for taking a look at what I’m doing!

Tom aka 2busy

My previous training log is here http://tnation.T-Nation.com/hub/2busy#myLogs/thread//0

1 Like

Proof that the boards at a hockey rink don’t flex near the ice.

Start of the cyborg upgrades :slight_smile:

BAH HA!! FROM “TK” to “O35”.

Nice to have ya 2B.

Coffee’s in the back room. Geritol is up in the cabinet.