T Nation

28 YO Male About To Begin TRT 9/30

Hi all,

First off, I really appreciate all the information and guidance you all have been providing free of charge. I've been lurking here for the past few weeks, and in that very short time your opinions, analysis and experiences have proven EXTREMELY helpful in my attempts to change my life.

Short bio data - I am a 28 YO male, 5-11, and 339 lbs (down from 415 in January of this year, and 394 on July 1st of this year). I am currently following an ultra low-carb diet (<20 grams of carbs / day) to lose weight, as well as exercising 5x a week for 50-60 mins on an elliptical trainer.

Starting about 10 years ago, I began feeling totally exhausted, foggy-headed, and just "out of it" pretty consistently. My academic performance suffered greatly - once a fantastic straight-A student, I graduated college with barely a 2.7 GPA. I had no sex drive (frankly, I didn't even know what a sex drive was until this year, when my therapist asked if I'd ever had a girlfriend). I had a great group of friends that stuck by me even as I slowly withdrew from all social activities, always complaining that I was exhausted or just "not feeling up to" doing things that should have been fun and exciting for me. I took up smoking cigarettes, drinking copious amounts of coffee, and just generally chastising myself for not being able to keep up with my peers, and this turned into a variety of really negative thoughts/self-talk that I am currently in CBT to get a hold of.

Somehow, even with all this going on, I was able to push through and get a pretty good job after graduation...which lasted all of 3 years, with my mental/physical state continuously deteriorating, until I quit and proceeded to spend the next 2.5 years literally locked in my apartment, overeating and sleeping at odd hours of the day, avoiding everyone I knew (including family), and just generally being depressed and exhausted.