T Nation

24 Year Old With Low T-Levels

Hey guys, Im a complete newbie, I found this site and figured someone would help me. I’ll keep this brief.

In the past 2 years, my sex drive has been slowing down, and so have my body-building gains. I became less able to concentrate, etc … I researched the matter a little and found low T to be a good suspect.

I went to my general doctor, he took a simple metabolic blood panel, along with total testosterone. Everything turned out normal … except Testosterone was 420 on a range of 350 - 1100.

I dont drink, I dont smoke, and I hit the gym 4 times a week. It seems obvious to me that 450 is not right. I couldnt find any possible explanation for this.

After doing way more googleing than is humanly possible, I came across the “Varicocele”. I checked myself and I have one (on the left side, as expected) for sure! Uh-oh, could this be the problem?

Now Im super worried about this. Can a varicocele damage the testitcle beyond repair? I already scheduled a doctors appt. to get more tests done … and I do NOT want to go on TRT.

Does anyone have any advice on what tests to get? How about experience with this kind of situation?? Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Shafik

Not too much help I can give, but I am in the same boat. 24 years old, got two blood tests.

Results of first:

Tot Test - 447
Free Test - 11.6

Doc wasn’t concerned as he said it varies, and told me to try again in
a month, so I just got the results back from that one:

Tot Test - 405
Free Test - 10.3

I almost don’t want to go back for another because I’m worried it will be lower yet…

I would tell you to get another one, with total T, free T. There are other things that can help pinpoint it… FSH, LH, estradiol, etc. Check out some articles here and search for it on lef.org for more info.

[quote]shafik23 wrote:
Hey guys, Im a complete newbie, I found this site and figured someone would help me. I’ll keep this brief.