200kg/440lbs Beltless Front Squat

Basically I write this post for two reasons.

1. I would like to thank everyone at this site that has helped me during the last few years. In 2004/2005 I posted videos and asked for technique pointers in the squat. My technique was not so good at that time. I remember I got a bit upset when a forumite yelled at me I had no business doing squat reps I could not complete myself. I remember I let my ego rule, and had a friend helping me with some very heavy squat reps. I then posted these reps. What stupidity, however as the years went by, I matured, my technique improved, and so did my strength.

2. To show off a bit, I am proud of what I have achived, and want some feedback. If I can inspire anyone, that is good too!

Basically I started lifting weights in the summer 2000. Pretty soon I became interested in strength rather than size, but ofcourse size follows strength… Anyway, I started out at a measly 71kg/156lbs bw, and today I was 116.5kg/256lbs. That weight gain happened over 9 and a half year. Basically I am just a stubborn sob, and always wanted to increase my strength. Plain food, protein powder, creatine/glutamine sometimes is what I have based my diet on.

Anyway, I know there are people that lift 200kg front squat like nothing, strongmen, weightlifters, powerlifters, but anyway I think it is a good lift, and it is probably the best maximum attempt I have ever done at the front squat, so here goes:

Thank you everyone that has ever replied to my questions, and in particular I would like to mention Rugger and Tmodi, that has both done the Smolov program.

Keep training hard, set high goals and never give up!

Actually 200kilo front squat is freaking massive!! Congratulations, btw are you from Norway or Sweden?

Great job. You smoked that. When I first saw it, I thought it was a warm-up set.

SPEED, SPEED. Haha, awesome. :slight_smile: