2006: What Have You Learned?

I thought it would be interesting and educating to find out what everyone has learned in '06. What’s worked for you, what you wish you hadn’t done, training revelations, anything.

For me 2006 was awesome, mostly in part because I started training at the tail end of 2005.

I learned that the best use for a machine was to sit for a rest; despite popular belief the shoulder is more than the anterior deltoid, and that nutrition is a hell of a lot more important than I originally thought.

My perceptions about training also changed. I used to think I just want to be stronger. Forget size or definition, that’s just a plus, I just want to be strong. I could care less about shape in my biceps or triceps, darn it I want to curl and push big! That’s not to say compounds were not the focus of my workouts, but I held the same philosophy for bench or squat in every exercise. Now I look at a muscle and say, what do I want it do for me? Looks? Does it help a major movement? I think this was a big turning point for me.

Another thing I am still dealing with is the “fear” of what others think. When I started out one of the main reasons I stayed away from the free weights section was because that’s where all the big guys were, and being a fat bastard with a WoW sedentary lifestyle I lifted like a 130 pound girl. My biggest regret was around the time I finally got some balls to move to the free weights: I was quite ignorant about anatomy and was not aware there are muscles that the mirror doesn’t show (mainly, the back; excuse my poor attempt at a joke).

Another thing I learned was that no, I’m not invincible or impervious to injury. Currently dealing with a nerve entrapment (thank God for ART) and having some fun with shoulder pain has taught me that “training” does not just consist of lifting some weight and I need to do a hell of a lot more pulling exercises.