20 Lb. Lean Bulk in 7 Months, Possible?

A little background here-I’m 20 years old, and about 213 Lbs. in the offseason (at 6’ even). I also wrestle in college. Right now I wrestle at 197 pounds, but my coach wants me to wrestle heavyweight next year weighing about 230, while also being about as lean as I am now. For reference we get our bodyfat tested as a part of the weight certification process and I had ~11% bf on a 3-site caliper reading. I’ve been training hard for about 3 to 4 years at this point, and can pull 560, squat 500, and bench 375. My strict overhead press is sitting at 245 and my power clean from the hang at 330. Most of my training to this point has been in the 3-10 rep range. My most burning question right now is if a 20Lb bulk in 7 months is possible at this point, and if it is how I should go about it.

Tl;dr Is it possible for me to put on 20lbs of lean mass in 7 months at this point in my training?

essentially, no. first, I’m going to assume no PED’s. If that’s incorrect, let us know. if you gain 20 lbs in 7 months, I’d say best case scenario is you’re looking at 10ish lbs of it being lean. Which is really really good. And you could shed the fat gained later. But 20 lbs of muscle, at your current size and strength, just isn’t happening in that short time period.

1 Like

As flip said, probably not going to happen. If you’re on gear at all, it’s a stretch, but maybe, but probably not still. Honestly, don’t worry too much about staying über lean. You wrestle. That’ll keep you in great shape. Just eat enough and well enough, slowly increase cals, and keep training.

Any reason why he wants you to go up?

his youth makes him a different case from me, but his strength and size are pretty similar to me and i can’t imagine adding that much solid weight, even on gear, in that period of time. I’d love to add 10-15 solid pounds by next summer, which is enough time for 2 good cycles, lol

1 Like