T Nation

2 Days/Week Workout

Hi guys! Been exploring this great site past couple of weeks and now I seek your guidance…

First off, I’m not a complete beginner, been training on and off over the past few years, now getting back into it. Due to a busy schedule I can only train 2 evenings a week, evenly spaced apart. And I was hoping for some input into how I can gain more effectively.

I already take protein supplements and fish oil daily.

Below’s my routine of last 3 weeks. Before that I was doing 1 arms day & 1 chest & back day. I’m just not sure how my body should be split and how I should vary it on a regular basis. Oh, I’m not doing legs at moment.

Workout A

3x7 Two-handed cable curl
3x7 Incline dumbbell curl
3x7 Two-handed overhead ‘muscle-pose’ curl

3x6 Pull-up
3x7 Seated lat-pulldown
3x7 Bent-over one-handed dumbbell pullup
4x8 Hyperextension
(Yeah I should incorporate squats and deadlifts…)

3x10 Dumbbell shrugs

Workout B

3x7 Seated barbell shoulder press
3x7 Seated dumbbell shoulder press
3x7 Lateral raise

3x7 Incline barbell benchpress
3x7 Decline barbell benchpress
3x7 Flat dumbbell press

3x7 Assisted dips
3x7 Cable pull-downs for triceps
3x10 Dumbbell shrugs

Nah… You should make them the BASE of you routine…

Build your workout around compound exercises and you can get rid of a lot of the repetitions that you are doing

For legs - squats/deadlifts
Back - pullups, rows, deadlifts
Chest - incline/flat presses

then look to add some isolations in after the fact.

[quote]mattnxtc wrote:
Build your workout around compound exercises and you can get rid of a lot of the repetitions that you are doing

For legs - squats/deadlifts
Back - pullups, rows, deadlifts
Chest - incline/flat presses

then look to add some isolations in after the fact. [/quote]

Yes I agree and work your legs. Two days BIG compounds lie above said prob best do full body or push pull. Then after doing those and DOING them think about the other stuff

a good example of two days