T Nation

19 Yrs Old, Need to Lose Weight

I am currently 19 years old and I weigh 250lbs. I have been trying to lose weight for at least for at least 8 months so I can join the Army National Guard. I think I have 29% body fat the last time I checked. From what my friends told me, I lost a lot of weight ever since I graduated high school, because I stopped drinking soda for over a year now, but its not enough. My recruiter puts me on the crazy diets that lets me lose pounds quick, but I gain them right back, and tells me not to touch weights.

I have a decent build for a guy my size. I go to the gym and workout, I play sports, and I can run for long distances, but it seems that I am going no where. Then last night I heard about this site from a guy I just met, and he told me all the good things about this site. After reading some other forums and looking at pictures I see this site can help me reach my goal. So if anyone can give me advice it will be truly appreciated.

Don’t listen to the guy… go ahead and pick up those weights. Building muscle will increase metabolism rates and you’ll burn calories even faster. Faster burning calories more or less means faster losing weight. Eat healthy, lift weights, get good sleep, and continue with your activities, I’m sure you’ll reach your goals.

Read the stickies at the top of the beginners forum. Use the search bar and find John Berardi’s 7 Habits of Highly Effective Nutrition Programs article, and follow it. Lift heavy shit, and you should do fine.

How much weight do you need to lose? if you’re at 250, and you need to drop down to 200, starvation and running is the way to go.

… now, you won’t look good coming out the other end. And it won’t be fun. Or easy. Or healthy. Or good for you. But it’ll get you there faster. Lifting will add muscle (because you probably haven’t done it before), which will increase the amount of fat you’ll have to burn to get to the same weight.