T Nation

19 YO Looking to Get Leaner, Stronger & Fitter

I'm fairly new to training (only been doing it for half a year, on and off) and my goals are to get leaner, stronger and also fitter for rugby. I'm also trying to increase my push ups, deadlift, squat and bench but I train at home and I don't have a bench and rack yet for another month. I only have olympic barbell and dumbells with 300lbs worth of plates and a pull up bar so that's what I based my routine on.

Here's a routine I've made which I thought would work for me:

Friday :
Back
*Deadlifts
*Pull ups
*Bent over barbell rows
*Bent over two-arm long bar rows
Abs

Saturday :
Push ups
Triceps
*Dumbell one-arm triceps extension
*Dumbell seated triceps press
*Diamond push ups
Cardio

Sunday :
Rest

Monday :
Biceps
*Close grip pull ups
*Bicep curls and/or Hammer curls
*Barbell bicep curls
*Concentrated curls
Cardio

Tuesday :
Shoulders
*Push ups
*Standing Barbell shoulder press
*Shoulder lateral raises
Squats (only up to 40kg for about 15-20x)

Wednesday :
Grip
*Pull ups
*Deadlift holds
*Farmerâ??s walk with dumbells covered with towels
Abs/Cardio

Thursday :
Push ups
Rest

I'm planning to do this routine for about a month until I get a bench + rack to incorporate more exercises.

What do you guys think? Anything I can do to better this routine?

Rough situation without a bench and rack. But, you can do push ups everyday if you like. It's not taxing enough that you won't be able to recover from it daily.

Wondering whether you can find a place to do dips (eg. handrail in a corner of some stairs). Challenges you more than pushups, nice variety to chest-tris. Just asking..

floor press!

One thing that helped me massively when i started was a "pull up death set" (not my name). Consisted of:
Wide arm til failure
Overhand til failure
Underhand til failure
Narrow til failure