T Nation

16 yr old: 4 Day Split or Full Body Routine?

at my age was wondering what u believe is better
my stats are in past forums(6 ft, 167.2lbs), people will probs troll this but idc
im a footy player but don't think just cause i do it and school i have no time what so ever
im willing to put the hours in, been lifing for a year with a 4 day split routine
now eating alot more cause of a platue i have hit (167.2lbs), still aiming for my goal of 187lbs
feed back would be great, don't bitch about me askin for a proper routine
im a beginner looking for alil push in the right direction (even though i habe gained 22lbs in 8 months)

FBW are waste of time in my opinion.

If I were you I would try a 3 day basic split, like push/pull/legs, start eat FOR REAL and give this things time.

you can go either way on this, how strong are you? depending on that you could go with something like starting strength or rippetoes 5x5 as far as full body. As far as splits go id recommend 5/3/1, it simple, it works, and you can run it 3 or 4 days a week depending on how much time you have. Also, read the stickies, all of them.

Depends on what you are looking for IMO. sheiko is full body and that shit is BRUTAL. And it works really freaking well. But if you are looking to be a bodybuilder no I don't think full fody is the way to go past the beginner stage. I do, however think fbw are great learning tools for beginners and those who need overall fat loss, or overall mass.

personally however, I tend to favor an upper/lower split. OP, look at WS4SB part 3. Good for people who play sports and want to gain mass/strength. That would be my recommendation to you, along with a food log to keep track of protein, carbs, fat, calories and weight. If you are not growing at you stage, you are not eating enough consistently, period. Playing soccer (for us americans) is much like endurance work, and you need to be eating to support both that and your weight gain goals.