T Nation

16/8 Advice

So recently I've decided what the hell, I'm going to give this a try. I'm still recovering from a recent knee surgery, so I'm very content with maintenance right now as there's only so much of a metabolic disturbance you can generate from upperbody lifting and low intensity biking.

Now seems like a great time to experiment with dieting. Not to mention a little bit of fat loss would be a bonus. I've settled on 16/8, since I am completely new to the idea of IF and this seems kind of like a gateway to the lifestyle.

I'm 5'10", ~180-190 lbs (haven't weighed since the surgery), 12-14% bf. Ideally I sleep from 12-2 to 9-11. I've eaten paleo for about a year, starting at around 70% paleo to today when I'm about 95%. I've never really counted total calories, but my macro split usually looks about like 60/30/10 f/p/c.

So basically here's my plan and concerns. I'd love any feedback from those of you who have experience with IF.
1. I think I'm going to go with a feed period from 4pm-midnight. Does this seem right or should I bump it forward or back a little based on my sleep schedule?
2. I typically have classes through the morning to afternoon, and the rec center is packed to the walls until around 9 pm, so that's typically when I end up going. Is it ok to stick with this time frame, during my feed period, or should I suck it up and get up and go before classes in a fasted state?
3. During shorter periods of fasting in the past, I have noticed I become irritable and have difficulty concentrating. Both of these are no-go's as a grad student. Is this a temporary part of the transition? Should I eat a little in the morning until I can wean myself off and do a full fast?
4. Is there a preferred way to eat during the feed period? Frequent meals? A few feasts?

Thanks in advance!

Most of this is answered on Martin's blog pages but I'll try to answer what I can from what I remember.