T Nation

15lbs In Two Months - Realistic?

Hi everyone, I’m a beginner. I’ve trained off and on since the beginning of 2006, but just started getting serious a few months ago. I’m now 155lbs @ 5’ 9’’ and I’m curious to see if making it up to 170lbs by May would be a realistic goal. I started around 120. I’m not going to post any pics (a stupid thing to do here if you’re under 200lbs), but I do have some other information about my habits:

My schedule is as follows:

Monday: Squats, Calf Raises, Weighted Pull-ups
Tuesday: Deadlifts, Bench Press, DB Military Press
Wednesday: Rest
Thursday: Repeat Monday
Friday: Repeat Tuesday
Weekends: Rest

I eat a good amount but there is always room for improvement. Most of my protein comes from dairy sources (milk, cottage cheese) and I make sure to get at least 1g/lb BW each day. The exercises I listed are the main ones I do, but I also add isolation exercises in when I feel a bodypart is lagging. Right now I’m just trying to focus on compound motions to get that hypertrophy going.

Thoughts, tips? If more info would help let me know. I just plan on eating as much as possible from here on, but any constructive criticism or advice about nutrition would help a lot too.

What total kcals are you eating a day? Do you do any other exercise? What is your lifestyle (eg sedentary desk worker or labourer)? What set/rep scheme are you using?

15lbs in 2 months is possible, but only if you have everything dialled in. You also have to accept that some of it will be fat. Let us know the answers to the above questions, they will help to figure out if is going to happen given what you are doing.

don’t let anyone tell you you can’t ok. in fact just shoot for it. you won’t know till you try it. eat like a horse and train hard.

[quote]That One Guy wrote:
don’t let anyone tell you you can’t ok. in fact just shoot for it. you won’t know till you try it. eat like a horse and train hard.[/quote]