15 Y/O - Good Bench Squat and Deadlift Numbers?

I wanted to know if my bench, squat and deadlift are decent.
I’ve been training for 5 months and i weight 63kg at 174mc tall.

Bench 60kg
squat 85kg
deadlift 145kg

If your happy with them and your progress the answer is yes.

4 Likes

Compared to what is the question. Other kids your age? Other people 5 months into training? People who weigh 63kg?

Depends where you started too. How much have you improved in 5 months?

other kids my age

Your numbers right now don’t really matter. Just look around your school gym and see how you stack up.

What does matter is that you learn proper technique. Technique in high school weight rooms is pretty horrendous. Use a full range of motion (especially on squats) and focus on execution of each rep, not just adding as much weight to the bar as possible.

Also find a program around a few lifts and stick to it. I think 5/3/1 is an excellent choice for new lifters. If you follow 5/3/1 for the next year I can almost guarantee that you’ll be one of the strongest people in your weight room.

2 Likes

This.

Focus on what you can do to be the strongest guy you know in 3 years time. On that kind of time scale you have the opportunity to achieve the kind of things that will make people take notice.

1 Like

Yup, and keep a workout log! Keeping a log and following a program are the 2 things I did differently than all my friends who lifted weights. It’s not a coincidence that I got stronger than all my friends.

1 Like

I can compare you to me, I’ve been training since I was younger than you. I’m 17 now, 75kg, 173cm tall. A few days before I turned 17, I squatted 195kg, benched 105kg, deadlifted 200kg in a powerlifting meet.

I deadlifted 143kg for the first time on my 16th birthday weighing about 70kg. When I was 15 and 9 months, I deadlifted 120kg for 5 reps, weighing about 68kg. This was a huge PR at the time.